Body Image Part IV: My Choice and Your Choice Entwined

24 Jun

Copyright Folke Lehr(Image ©Folke Lehr)

I began The Body Image Series with this question: If we were fully convinced that no one else cared one bit what we looked like, how much would we care?  Would we have any reason to envy conventionally attractive people?  Would weight loss have anything to do with waist size?  Would limb-lengthening still touch on the idea of “blending in”?

 ***

Ten years ago, I attended the premiere of HBO’s Dwarfs: Not A Fairy Tale along with the other subjects of the documentary.  Upon seeing me, one of the men with achondroplasia asked his friend, “What’s she doing here?  She’s not a dwarf.”

“She had limb-lengthening surgeries to make her taller,” his friend murmured.

 “What?!” he exclaimed. “She cheated!”

I felt myself blush before I could think of what to say.

Immediately, a woman with diastrophic dwarfism, the shortest of all of us, turned to me and said, “I’m on your side, Honey.  No way did you cheat.”

Part of me finds it hard not to laugh when others dismiss limb-lengthening on dwarfs as a “quick fix.”  Breaking bones, stretching them over a three-to-five-month period and then waiting for them to heal for another ten months is not exactly comparable to a boob-job done over the weekend.  Then again, you’d better have a damn good reason to be willing to go through something so intensive and risky.  So, did I do it to function better or, as a former president of Little People of America insisted, to “blend in”? 

I did it to access all facilities I could not modify myself, from public ones like plane or train seats to private ones like friends’ furniture. I did it to correct some of my lordosis, so that I would have less back pain. I did it to have the extra leverage enabling me to carry bigger armloads. I did it to take bigger steps when walking, so I could cover more ground before I got tired. I did it so that my weight would be slightly more evenly distributed, making spinal compression less of a danger. I did it to reach farther. I did it because the patients I met who had done it were just as happy as those who had not.  Looking back on it all, this was definitely reason enough for me, regardless of whether or not it is for others.  But I can’t just leave it at that.

In my last post, I argued why there is no right way to hate your body.  In my experience, you can take dramatic measures to alter your body without hating it.  Indeed, the work you put into it can and should be an act of love, not desperation.  The night before my first limb-lengthening surgery, I kissed my old legs goodbye.  I was willing to let them go, but I kissed them all the same.  Yet many if not most outsiders assume that dwarfism is a visible difference the patient must want to erase.  After all, trying to argue that you don’t want to blend in, even though you will blend in, sounds like you’re trying to circle a square. 

So why not just say that limb-lengthening was my personal choice and my choice doesn’t affect anyone else?  But it does.  By blending in, I automatically relieve myself of a good deal of prejudice, of stares, of awkward reactions.  I have fewer questions to answer from people on the street and fewer chances to educate them.  By blending in, I’m breaking ranks with the dwarf community to some degree.  That’s nothing to sneeze at when considering that before the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, dwarfs had an unemployment rate of 85% in the U.S. all because of lookism.  By blending in, I am contributing to the trend that may make limb-lengthening a fashion for people with dwarfism.  Both politics and beauty standards measure strength in numbers. 

In the late 90s, my first femur surgery was filmed for a feature about limb-lengthening on the American news show 20/20.  The interviewer asked a 12 year-old patient with dwarfism, “Did you do it to look normal or to function better?”

Without missing a beat, the boy answered, “So that I could function better.  I don’t care how I look.  I just want to do what everyone else can.” 

Sitting at home watching, I raised my fist in solidarity and whispered, “Right on, kid.”

In the follow-up commentary, Connie Chung reported, “He has since finished the procedure to combat his dwarfism.”

I shot up in my seat in disbelief: “COMBAT?!” Was that the automatic assumption?  I wasn’t in a battle against my dwarfism, and obviously neither was this patient.  I was working with my body, not against it!  I realized then that it was important that others knew this if they were going to know that I chose limb-lengthening.

We may someday live in a world in which every candidate for limb-lengthening makes the same decision I did and in doing so, makes the world a less physically diverse place.  I will accept such a world, since my own efforts to function better have helped contribute to it.  But I won’t make any arguments advocating such homogeneity.  If my dwarfism and limb-lengthening have taught me anything, it is that it’s far more important for me to argue that beauty is about so much more than blending in. 

Deep down inside, every one of us wants to be conventionally attractive to some degree, because life seems easier that way.  We love the idea of throngs of people admiring us, envying us, falling hard for us at first sight.  It makes us feel fantastic on a visceral, heart-thumping level to be praised for our looks.  But if everyone agrees that there’s more to love and romance than conventionally good looks, what is the point of having broad appeal?  During the years when my curly hair reached my backside, I enjoyed the compliments but they were always the same, regardless of whether they came from friends or strangers.  My short, round achondroplastic hands, meanwhile, have garnered a lot more attention to detail.  My dad always called them “starfish hands.”  A guy in college examined them and disagreed: “They’re Maggie Simpson hands.”  Another amended it with a giddy squeal, “They’re finger-painting hands!”  When I began my final limb-lengthening procedure, a guyfriend in high school nicknamed me “Legs” because I had the most expensive pair around.  Who needs broad appeal when you have genuine affection?  What better proof is there of such affection, of people’s capacity to look beyond convention than their fearlessly falling in love with features they’ve never seen before?

If I deeply regretted having dwarfism, then limb-lengthening would indeed be an extreme measure taken to offset severe personal insecurity, and that would be a major cause for concern. Hating my looks so profoundly would impact other dwarfs’ perception of their own looks.  This is why I blog.  I don’t want to live in a world where anyone is pressured to change their body just to be accepted, and I don’t want my story to be misused to contribute to the forces pushing the world in that direction.

This is not to say every person who is born on the margins should turn their life into a 24-hour political cause.  Trans individuals should never have to answer invasive questions about their bodies any more frequently than cis individuals should.  LGBT people should never be pressured to come out.  Black Americans shouldn’t have to put up with strangers and acquaintances trying to touch their hair all the time.  The right to privacy is a human right. Your sex life, your income, your medical records, and your body are all matters you shouldn’t ever have to submit to anyone’s microscope if you don’t wish to.  But if we do open our mouths, we have to take responsibility for the consequences.   

When I choose to talk about my body and my choices, it feels to me like I’m talking only about myself.  But others are listening for how it all affects them.  If they don’t care about me personally, it’s their only reason for paying attention.  It’s the only reason we read novels and newspaper articles and blogs about strangers’ lives.  We’re searching for something we can relate to, and if we can’t relate, we at least want to know how other people’s choices are shaping the world we live in.  Opinions such as “I was so gross when I weighed x pounds,” or “I can’t wait to get rid of these hideous scars” both reflect and influence the society comprising us all.  We love taking credit for our words when others agree or are inspired by them.  But if someone raises the possibility of our statements having a negative impact on others, the temptation to shirk all responsibility for others is strong.  But we can’t ever shirk it.  That’s cowardly.

This doesn’t mean we must accept others offhandedly judging our most complex decisions.  Unfortunately, no matter what we say or how carefully we try to shape the argument, there will always be those out there who judge before hearing the end of the sentence.  Putting more energy into brandishing our opinions than admitting what we don’t know is also cowardly. 

A friend I met in the hospital was ten years-old and in the midst of limb-lengthening when a woman with dwarfism approached him in public and berated his mother for choosing limb-lengthening for her child. My friend concluded that this is why we shouldn’t talk to strangers.

We are talking to strangers when we publicly discuss our personal decisions, and the Internet is blurring the lines between public and private discussions faster than ever.  As decision-makers, we cannot discuss our choices and our views free from any responsibility for the effect they will have on others.  As observers, we cannot accurately judge others’ decisions at face-value, free from the burdens of learning. 

During one of my limb-lengthenings, I was featured in a French magazine article that posed questions I’ve used in my workshops on dwarfism and diversity, paraphrased here: 

Society does not physical accept differences easily.  Without a doubt, that is society’s fault.  But who should change?  Society or the dwarf?  For the dwarf to change, she must undergo years of painful surgeries and intensive physical therapy, risking many complications.  For society to change, it must alter its way of thinking.  Who suffers more in the change?  Which change is harder to achieve?

My experiences with dwarfism and limb-lengthening have inspired me to try to change both.  As best as a bossy girl from Long Island can.

 

17 Responses to “Body Image Part IV: My Choice and Your Choice Entwined”

  1. ddos vps August 6, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.|

  2. enyamarie June 1, 2015 at 12:36 pm #

    In an earlier comment I asked what limb-lengthening was and this post (with the help of Google!) helped me out on that as it’s something I’d never heard of before and I know very little about dwarfism due to nobody I personally know being affected by it.

    Thank you for this post and your many others that have opened my eyes to dwarfism, body image and equality debates in ways I’ve never thought of before.
    Your blog content is truly enlightening and one of the best I’ve ever read due to how thought-provoking it is. Next time you face writer’s block or you’re having a bad blog day, please have faith that you’re producing great material.
    I look forward to reading more of your thoughts in future posts!

    • Emily Sullivan Sanford June 2, 2015 at 8:02 pm #

      You are too kind! Thank you very much.

      • klaflash@mursd.org September 28, 2016 at 12:05 am #

        I just found this blog, and I want to thank you for enlightening me. I have use the HBO special in my Child Growth classes and to find you well, happy and an activist will enhance my students understanding of the differences, but more importantly, the universal experience of life.

      • Emily Sullivan Sanford September 28, 2016 at 7:39 am #

        Thank you very much for taking the time to say so. I am always encouraged to hear that these issues are being discussed in the classroom.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Who You Telling To Wear Makeup? | Painting On Scars - April 28, 2013

    […] feminists are right that women should be free to choose makeup.  As I’ve written before in explaining my choice to have my limbs lengthened, we should free to make complex decisions about […]

  2. It’s Dwarfism Awareness Month! | Painting On Scars - October 6, 2013

    […] can read up on it under the FAQ’s, read about some of my dwarfish opinions here or here or here, or consider any one of the following […]

  3. Is Dwarfism A Disability? | Painting On Scars - October 27, 2013

    […] made you stronger, you’re glad when it’s gone. My dwarfism has always been around and I’ve never tried to conquer it. It’s a condition, a word as neutral as it is fitting. But is it a […]

  4. “Fashionista Has Leg Amputated So She Can High Wear High Heels” | Painting On Scars - December 2, 2013

    […] people we don’t know as an easy way to prop ourselves up. Of course this is asking a lot, and so, once again, we must decide which is harder – altering the way we think or altering our […]

  5. Does It Matter If It’s Genetic? | Painting On Scars - February 16, 2014

    […] exploring the answer as it applies to minorities rights, I keep coming back to the same question: Who suffers more in the change?  Humans have repeatedly proven to cause less suffering when we accept body diversity, intellectual […]

  6. Should You Be Allowed To Hide From Google? | Painting On Scars - May 18, 2014

    […] I’ve dealt with friends of friends trashing my medical experiences online by writing my own blog entries about the incident and the issues it raised, but I don’t believe everyone should be required to. […]

  7. Street Harassment of Dwarfs: What You Can Do | Painting On Scars - September 14, 2014

    […] I did not undergo limb-lengthening to blend in (more on that here), it has undeniably spared me a lot of this unpleasant commentary which so many dwarfs endure, and […]

  8. How Much Does Height Matter To You? | Painting On Scars - May 31, 2015

    […] said it once and I’ll say it again. I did not undergo limb-lengthening to “look normal.” I did it to […]

  9. High Schools Fight to Keep Midgets As Mascots | Painting On Scars - July 12, 2015

    […] Calling someone what they wish to be called should be a no-brainer, but is often met with resistance. Asking someone else to change their name in deference to someone else, however, sometimes seems harder than limb-lengthening. […]

  10. Body Dysmorphia & the Dangers of Operating Out of Insecurity | Painting On Scars - November 29, 2015

    […] have written extensively about my decision to undergo six years of limb-lengthening. In the many, many conversations I have […]

  11. Can We Understand What Is It Like To Hear Sound for the First Time? | Painting On Scars - January 17, 2016

    […] have endeavored to communicate it through this blog and all the media work I have done for the past 20 […]

  12. Should Jokes About Minorities Be Off Limits? | Painting On Scars - February 7, 2016

    […] know about a limb-lengthening procedure that could help him […]

Leave a comment